Four Movies I’ve Watched Recently

March 30, 2010

Precious… I watched this last night. And I cried like a little baby! Mon’ique (is that where the apostrophe goes?) was incredible. Absolutely deserved her Oscar. I thought the whole thing was almost perfectly balanced… it had that whole ‘teacher changes the student’s lives, gives them hope to live up to their potential, etc etc’ thing going on… but without being so hokey? I’m not too sure that I loved the fantasy sequences, but that said they made their point, and worked in the context of the movie, so I think I’m on board with them.

Once Were Warriors… Another movie that made me cry like a baby! I actually had to leave the room at one point, as my cousin hung himself last year, and it’s still not something I feel overly comfortable watching. I don’t know what I was actually expecting from this movie, but I thought it was quite amazing as well. My boyfriend bought it over here to watch, as he is quarter Maori and apparently his father has a real problem with the movie or something. One of those achingly beautiful movies that intermittedely blows up and slams you right in the face. Kind of like the main character I guess.

Beetlejuice…It’s a Tim Burton movie, and not a bad one. I kind of always assumed it would be a little better, but I enjoyed it. At the end of the day thought, I’ve seen the same thing from Tim Burton so many times that I can’t get too excited about it anymore. He should definitely stick to original storytelling though. I still haven’t seen Alice in Wonderland and I have no real plans to pay to see it either.

Surrogates…could have been a lot better than it was, if it didn’t try so hard to be so much better than it was! My best friend described it as “a poor man’s Blade Runner”. That’s basically it. There were two characters who I thought were the same person the whole time! Not too much to say about this. It’s not terrible or anything, strictly meh material.

On my to watch list over mid semester break:

(And may I just say…some of these I’m strictly watching because I ALWAYS get asked about them at work and I’m sick of having to say, oh, I hear it’s okay I want to give an actual opinion! Even if I’m not allowed to say, oh, it’s shit)

  • Where the Wild Things Are (came out on dvd yesterday, like 4 days early I think!)
  • Jennifer’s Body (same as above)
  • A Serious Man
  • Mao’s Last Dancer
  • Dancer in the Dark (because omg I have never seen it, and I always mean to, but never do)
  • Wake in Fright
  • Watchmen
  • 500 Days of Summer (have bought it home twice already!)
  • The Box
  • Antichrist (am so shit scared to watch this movie that I will need my boyfriend…on the other hand I might be too scarred to sleep with him after).
2 Responses to “Four Movies I’ve Watched Recently”

  1. Sarah Hannah said

    dying to see Precious! And Antichrist but think I’ll need my boyfriend too!

    Beetlejuice is one of my alltime fave movies. I first saw it when I was little and it scared me so much. One of those movies that are even better because of the emotional connections I think. Ditto for Where The Wild Things Are, I loved the book as a kid. The movie was awesome. And so was 500 Days Of Summer.

  2. claire said

    well Precious comes out in June and I definitely recommend it! I watched our screener which has a massive watermark and every so often turns black and white so I will be watching the real thing for sure. 🙂

    For like…10 years I thought that blue chick in the waiting office in BJ was from the Fifth Element. Not sure where I ever saw that image or why I associated it with the fifth element though.

Leave a Reply

